Spotlight+: Live Session with Emily Carr

Q. HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOUR STYLE OF MUSIC?

I would describe my style of music as sad acoustic music. You know, the kind of music you listen to when you fancy a good cry or to feel better about where you are in life right now.

Q. HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN PERFORMING AND WHERE DID IT ALL START FOR YOU?

I’ve been performing for about 8 years now and it all started in a beautiful little bar in Leicester at an open mic night my friend Matt suggested I go to. I was so nervous but absolutely fell in love with performing and since that day I haven’t stopped! Before that, I used to do karaoke on family holidays and the crowd would always be so surprised when me, this tiny little kid, got up to do a famous song and could actually hit all the notes and perform it well, they are such great memories!

Q. WHERE DID YOU FIRST BEGIN PERFORMING AND DO YOU HAVE PLACES YOU PREFER TO PLAY?

I first started performing in Leicester and my favourite venue has got to be The Cookie. Just something about having your name in the lights above the door is magical. I like the set up downstairs as well and the sound technicians have always been lovely and accommodating! Since I moved to Leeds I also love performing there in various venues. I’m not sure I’ve found my favourite yet but there are some really great sound technicians like Philip Oldroyd who make you feel safe, comfortable and like you’re at home whatever venue you’re in!

Q. WHAT IS YOUR OPINION ON THE LOCAL MUSIC SCENE IN YOUR CITY?

My opinion on the local music scene in Leeds is that it is truly incredible and packed to the brim with amazing, unsigned artists! There are so so many talented musicians around Leeds and there are also a ton of opportunities to play. Before the pandemic, you could find an open mic almost every single day of the week and most of them were packed every week too! A lot of the venues are independent as well so not only are you supporting the musicians starting out there, you’re also supporting the smaller, independent venues just by being there and they always have a great atmosphere!

Q. WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN YOUR MAIN HIGHLIGHTS IN YOUR MUSIC CAREER SO FAR?

I’d say the main highlights in my music career so far have been supporting the likes of Leddra Chapman, Husky Loops and Tom Walker. Headlining The Cookie with my bandmates and seeing my name up in the lights above the door. Playing infront of 3000+ people, releasing my first ever single and writing for people all over the world! Just to name a few, I think I would really struggle to pick just one moment out of all of them!

Q. WHO ARE YOUR MAIN MUSIC INFLUENCES AND DO YOU HAVE AN ARTIST YOU LISTEN TO A LOT CURRENTLY?

My main influences are Lewis Watson (he’s the whole reason I taught myself guitar) and Orla Gartland. Both have a similar writing style but exercise it completely differently. They’re both super honest in their lyrics and that’s something I’ve always strived for when writing for myself. I want the listener to be able to feel the emotion I put into the song and relate it to a situation they’re going through when they listen to it so that they don’t feel as though they’re going through it alone. At the moment I’m listening to a lot of Lewis Watson, Orla Gartland and indie artists like Wallows, COIN, Among The Citizens and Will Joseph Cook and Peach Pit. I’m also really bopping to some of my friend’s releases like Remy Turi’s debut EP ‘Slow Burn’, LYD’s debut single ‘In My Head’ and Sereti’s singles ‘Coming Through’ and ‘First Love’.

Q. WITH FESTIVAL SEASON APPROACHING DO YOU HAVE ANY FESTIVALS YOU ENJOY PLAYING OR WOULD LIKE TO BE PART OF?

I would love to play Glastonbury, who wouldn’t?! But I think I’m still a little way off from that yet! I’d love to continue to support the smaller festivals and really wish Folk On The Dock in Liverpool was happening again as that is one I really enjoyed playing a couple of years back!

Q. WHAT ARE YOUR EXPERIENCES OF RECORDING IN THE STUDIO, WHEN DID YOU RECORD YOUR FIRST SINGLE AND DO YOU HAVE ANY FUTURE RELEASES LINED UP?

I work with a really great producer, Joe Oakley, and most of the work we’ve done has been in a home studio kind of vibe. Being friends before working together has meant that it’s always a really comfortable, friendly atmosphere whenever I get in the studio which is always a positive in my books! My first single however, was actually a live recording for my friend and producer Max Russell’s Uni portfolio. I kept listening back to it and one day I just messaged Max like ‘Hey, wanna release this song?’ and he instantly was like ‘Yeah let’s do it, I know a guy who is great at mastering, I’m on it’ and that was it! A couple of weeks later and it was out and released. I’m not sure if many people know it was actually a live recording but if they read this they definitely know now!
My next release is a bit of a secret still but I can say that my second single Mason has something to do with it, keep your eyes peeled on my socials for more info!

Q. HOW SUPPORTIVE DO YOU FIND YOUR LOCAL MUSIC SCENE?

Due to Leeds being so big, it can be hard to find other supportive musicians but I feel as though I’ve gotten really lucky with the other artists I’ve met and the network I have from going to Leeds College Of Music. Whenever I’ve played a gig, or at least 90% of the time I would say, the other artists performing have always been really nice and friendly, usually chatting after each others sets and congratulating their favourite part of it. I’ve even had a couple of collaborations and further gigs thanks to meeting such lovely artists and promoters on the scene so I’d say I’ve gotten lucky landing in Leeds and meeting the people I have met along the way.

Q. WHAT INSTRUMENTS DO YOU PLAY?

So I mainly sing and play guitar but in recent years I’ve branched out and taught myself how to play the basics of piano/keyboard and bass guitar. I’ve also dabbled a little in drums but I definitely don’t have the hand to feet co-ordination to be a drummer! I can only dream!

Q. DO YOU FIND YOU CAN EARN ENOUGH INCOME AS A MUSICIAN, OR IS IT IMPORTANT TO HAVE A DAY JOB CURRENTLY?

Currently no, I don’t think I can earn anywhere near enough income solely as a musician and so I do think it’s important to have a day job or be doing it alongside your studies. A lot of smaller venues are reluctant to pay their artists and if you don’t have a huge fanbase that are willing to attend your gigs regularly, as well as pay to attend gigs regularly, then it can be tough to even secure a paid slot most of the time. Events like weddings or background music at a venue are great ways to earn extra income but usually they don’t want original music so it’s tough to find a balance where you’re earning a good amount of money and staying true to what you want to perform.

Checkout: https://www.facebook.com/EmilyCarrMusic

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑